The Low-Low Refashion (tutorial)

It’s been forever since I’ve posted a new refashion 😦 Mostly I’ve been sick, but a bit of laziness played a part too! I also didn’t want to dig into my refash stash in case I was taking part in the Refashion Runway over at The Renegade Seamstress. Me-Made-May was a bit of a flop. I started out strong in the first week, I noted all of my outfits and had a draft post all ready to go, I just needed hubby to take some photos for me…which never happened 😦 Then I found that Week 2 was much the same as Week 1 and by Week 3 I was sick of cycling around the same few outfits so I gave up 😦 Next year…

So back to the refashion. I went into Big W today for some dishwasher cleaner; remembered I also needed to get socks for the girls. Got slightly sidetracked by the $3 clearance rack and found this lovely floral hi-low top – or as I have renamed it – the low-low top. I just wanted a bit more drama – please don’t tell my kids I said that! This tutorial will work for any long top, doesn’t need to be a hi-low/low-low.

What You’ll Need:

  • Top
  • Seam ripper
  • Pins
  • Thread

What You’ll Need to Do:

  1. Give it an iron. I’m loathe to ironing – but it had to be done. I’d call this a cotton voile and if I didn’t iron it I would end up with a hi-zig-zag-low top instead of what I wanted! Then try it on and work out where you want you high in the centre front and where you want your low in the centre back. You can see in the photos that I only ironed the bits I needed too…it’s only going to get crinkled again anyway!
  2. Turn your top inside out. Match up the side seams and pin so that your top is left-right symmetrical. You can barely see mine, but it’s there in the side seam. Work out where you want your new hem. It’s actually a curved line at the front there, but I didn’t know how to do that in my photo editor.
    IMGP3061
  3. Now it’s time to get destructive!  Cut any excess fabric off DON’T FORGET HEM ALLOWANCE.IMGP3062
  4. You’ll need to use your seam ripper to unpick the existing hem. Only unpick the bits to be altered and a little bit either side to that!
    IMGP3064
  5. Now you need to add in your new hem. Fold your fabric over twice so that the raw edges are completely encloses. The iron is your friend here. Voile is fiddly, but on the plus side it’s extremely obedient to the iron, it makes those curvy parts oh so much easier! Try your top on before you sew to make sure you’re happy with the high and low parts and that everything is even.
  6. Just sew along, using the folded edge (the bottom of your garment) as your guide so that your hem is the same the whole way around – especially if, like me, you discover you’re out of white thread (how does that even happen?!?!) and are using something contrasting!
    IMGP3069
  7. Give it another iron and you’re done!
    IMGP3065

I’m not sure if this is technically a refashion, it’s more of an alteration in my opinion. I’ve worn it out and I’m extremely happy with it 🙂

One thought on “The Low-Low Refashion (tutorial)

What Do You Think? (I love feedback!)

